Turkey lentil soup and homemade bread

turkey lentil soup

I needed to assuage my guilt after pigging out on pulled pork yesterday (pun intended).  So today it was fiber, fiber and more fiber! 

Although I pride myself in avoiding convenience and processed foods in favor of cooking from scratch (but I welcome prewashed greens, pre-roasted peppers etc), I do love my kitchen “power tools.”  I don’t need the newest and shiniest (my Cuisinart food processor is about 25 years old, i.e., older than a lot of my friends, but it still works!), or fancy limited-use gadgets.  But one gift John gave me many years ago that I cherish is my bread maker.  The fastest way to meet your neighbors is to let the smell of fresh bread baking waft from your home. The hardest thing about having a breadmaker is avoiding the temptation to wolf down the whole warm loaf in one sitting. 

My kitchen is also well stocked with bulk foods from Henry’s, my favorite local “farmers market” (where I also stock up on nuts for Potty Mouth and friends).  Multigrain bread and turkey-lentil soup made it to the menu tonight.

Multigrain bread

  • 1 ½ cups water
  • 2 tbsp softened butter
  • 1 1/3 cups bread flour
  • 1 1/3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 ¾ cup 7-grain cereal (available in health food stores, the kind you serve hot)
  • ¼ cup oat bran
  • 3 tbsp packed brown sugar
  • 1 ¼ tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp active dry yeast

Follow bread machine directions (if your looking for instructions on how to make bread the old-fashioned way, i.e. kneading by hand, you’ll have to check another web site).  This recipe yields a 1-1/2 pound compact, but moist and yummy loaf.  Because of the whole grains it won’t rise as high and light as white bread, but don’t worry, if you do it right, it won’t turn out to be a door stop either.  It’s hearty and you’ll feel like you are eating something more than air.

Turkey-lentil soup

  • 2 tsp canola oil
  • ½ onion chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, smashed
  • 1 carrot peeled and chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 8 oz lentils
  • 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tsp dry oregano
  • 1 tbsp minced fresh oregano
  • 8 oz chopped cooked turkey
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • ½ cup chopped parsley

In a medium sized pot, saute onion, garlic, carrot, and celery in oil over medium heat.   When vegetables are soft, add lentils, broth, bay leaf, oregano and rosemary and turkey.  Bring soup to boil, then turn down heat, cover and simmer for about 20 minutes.  Add lots of freshly ground pepper to taste, and sprinkle soup with chopped parsley.  Makes about 4 generous servings. 

(c) all rights reserved

Leave a Reply

