New York Night

tuna waldorf

So tomorrow night is the beginning of Rosh Hashana, the Jewish New Year. I wanted to be ambitious and cook a brisket and apples and honey but I’m taking off for Rhode Island for the weekend (lobsters watch out!), and didn’t want all those leftovers fermenting in the fridge.  I also had to clean out the fridge so I did the next best thing, a casual New York dinner -cleaning out Lisa’s fridge style.  Homemade chicken soup with matzo balls and tuna waldorf salad. 

I’ve had some excellent Matzo Ball Soup in New York, where one matzo ball is about the size of a softball but the thought of that much dough in my belly while singing Faure’s Requiem at rehearsal tonight made me a little less ambitious.  So here are the recipes:

Matzo ball soup:

Simmer one pound chicken meat, half an onion chopped, 1 bay leaf, a couple of sprigs of fresh thyme in enough water to cover. While this is going on:

One package matzo ball soup mix – no I don’t make this from scratch.  Two eggs, beaten, 2 tbsp melted chicken fat (yes I pull chicken fat off of chickens and render it).  Mix together well and put in the fridge for at least 20 minutes.

While the matzo mix is doing whatever it’s supposed to do, cut up one large carrot and one long stalk of celery and chop green onions.  Add carrot and celery to the stock.  Have a glass of wine, water the yard and restock the squirrel munch box.

Wash hands thoroughly and form matzo mix into 1 inch balls, drop in the soup.  Let simmer for 20 minutes uncovered.  Sprinkle with chopped green onions just before serving.  Salt and pepper to taste.

TUNA WALDORF SALAD (clean out the fridge salad)

Drain one can tuna and mix with: 1/2 c sour cream, 1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 celery stalk, diced, one apple diced, a handful of grapes, halved, and 1/4 cup walnuts chopped.  Mound on a plate ringed with sliced cucumbers and sprinkle pomegranate seeds on top so it looks purty.

 

100_0757

(c) all rights reserved

5 Responses to “New York Night”

  1. Andrew Says:

    Lisa.. did you get the pictures reversed?

  2. Julian Si Says:

    I can’t wait to try this … or more like I can’t wait for L to try and cook this, I love all variants of Chicken Soup 🙂

  3. squirrelmama Says:

    Yeah, I got the pictures reversed. Still familiarizing myself with this site and all its features.

  4. Andrew Says:

    SquirrelMama..

    I just noticed that it’s all copyrighted… meaning i’ll have to send you a portion when I cook with your yummy recipes?

Leave a Reply

